Centre for Northern Innovation and Mining

What is CNIM?

The Centre for Northern Innovation and Mining (CNIM) is a state-of-the-art education, training, and research facility designed to provide Yukoners and Northerners with access to accredited career training opportunities in their regions.

From April 2013 to March 2017, the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) is delivering $5.6 million of funding to support the CNIM's capital costs in Whitehorse, Yukon at Yukon College's Ayamdigut Campus.

CanNor's funding is also supporting CNIM to construct a mobile trade school. This mobile school will make training more accessible by enabling the delivery of courses in smaller Yukon communities and at mine sites.

What is the purpose of CNIM?

The CNIM will provide Northerners access to training and skills required for high quality, skilled jobs in key economic sectors in their region. CNIM will better position Northerners to maximize the benefits related to mining and participate in the northern economy. It will also support Northerners to meet the workforce demands of the local resource development and exploration sector.

Where can I find more information on CNIM?

Contact the Yukon regional CanNor office or Yukon College for information on CNIM. CanNor staff will be happy to answer any questions you may have about CNIM.

Date modified:

Centre nordique d’innovation minière

Qu’est-ce que le CNIM?

Le Centre nordique d'innovation minière (CNIM) est un établissement d'enseignement, de formation et de recherche à la fine pointe. Il est conçu pour donner accès aux Yukonais et aux résidants du Nord à des occasions de formation professionnelle accréditée dans leurs régions.

D'avril 2013 à mars 2017, l'Agence de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) verse 5,6 millions de dollars pour appuyer les coûts d'établissement du CNIM à Whitehorse, au campus Ayamdigut du Collège du Yukon.

Les fonds versés par CanNor aident aussi le CNIM pour la construction d'une école de métiers mobile. Cette école facilitera l'accès à la formation en offrant des cours dans les petites collectivités ainsi que dans les sites miniers au Yukon.

Quel est l’objectif du CNIM?

Le CNIM donnera aux résidants du Nord un accès aux formations et aux compétences nécessaires pour obtenir les emplois qualifiés de grande qualité dans des secteurs économiques clés de la région. Grâce au CNIM, les résidants du Nord seront en meilleure position pour tirer profit au maximum des mines et pour participer à l'économie du Nord. Il les aidera aussi à répondre aux demandes de main-d'œuvre dans les secteurs locaux du développement des ressources et de l'exploration.

Où puis-je trouver plus d’information sur le CNIM?

Communiquez avec le bureau régional du Yukon de CanNor ou le Collège du Yukon (site Web non disponible en français) pour obtenir plus d'information sur le CNIM. Les employés de CanNor se feront un plaisir de répondre à vos questions sur le CNIM.

Date de modification :