Archived - CanNor supports geoscience research in the North

This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Available in Inuktitut Available in Inuktitut


Whitehorse, Yukon (November 22, 2010) – Canada's three territories will increase their geoscience knowledge which will encourage growth in the mining sectors and create employment opportunities across the North.

Senator Daniel Lang, on behalf of the Honourable John Duncan, Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor ), announced today the Government of Canada will invest $10,714,000 in a broad spectrum of geoscience programs in Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. This investment will stimulate mineral exploration and development. It will also provide the territories with better data for their land-use planning, road construction, archaeological work and cultural industries.

"Our Government is proud to invest in these programs, which will enable Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut to further expand their already considerable expertise in geoscience," said Senator Lang. "These programs provide important tools for economic development and managing natural resources."

"These projects are further proof of the priority this Government has put on the North. They will bring a range of economic benefits and opportunities to Northerners," said Minister Duncan, who is also Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians. "The information gathered will reduce economic risk for mining companies, help attract exploration investment, and contribute to growth in the mining sector, which is the largest private sector industry for the territories."

"The Yukon Geological Survey provides baseline information to support exploration investment, land use decision making and infrastructure development," said Patrick Rouble, Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources. "The Government of Yukon is very pleased to work in partnership with CanNor to support the continued growth of Yukon's mineral sector."

"We are pleased the Government of Canada and the Government of Nunavut are continuing to provide funding to outline the geology of Nunavut," said Peter Taptuna, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation with the Government of Nunavut. "This information is essential to companies looking for resources in a territory that is 20 per cent of Canada's landmass. It is our hope that companies will use this information to hire Nunavut residents to find carving stone and other resources that could sustain a mine."

"The Northwest Territories has a great wealth of natural resource potential," said Bob McLeod, Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment with the Government of the Northwest Territories. "Comprehensive and accurate identification of where mineral and energy resources are located is essential to unlocking this potential. The partnership in which our governments invest in NWT geosciences projects is key to advancing the development of our resources."

These investments are made possible through CanNor 's Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development (SINED) program, which focuses on long-term economic growth, economic diversification and capacity building in all three territories.



Please visit these web sites to learn more about Canada's Economic Action Plan and Canada's Northern Strategy.


For further information, please contact:

Office of the Honourable John Duncan
Michele Jamali-Paquette
Press Secretary
(819) 997-0002

Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
Erin Macpherson
Communications Advisor, Yukon Region

Craig Welsh
Communications Advisor, Nunavut Region

Petra White
Communications Advisor, NT Region

Government of Yukon- Energy, Mines and Resources
Mark Roberts
Director of Communications

Government of Nunavut – Economic Development and Transportation
Matthew Illaszewicz
Manager, Communications

Government of the Northwest Territories
John Ketchum
Senior Geologist and GNWT Manager
NWT Geoscience Office

Scott Cairns
Chief Geologist and INAC Manager
NWT Geoscience Office


You can receive all our news and media updates automatically. Visit our RSS Feed for more information or to sign up.

Archivé - CanNor soutient la recherche géoscientifique dans le Nord

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Version Inuktitut Version Inuktitut

CanNor-10-055

Whitehorse (Yukon), le 22 novembre 2010 – Les trois territoires du Canada vont approfondir leurs connaissances géoscientifiques, contribuant ainsi à la croissance des secteurs miniers et engendrant des possibilités d’emploi dans l’ensemble du Nord.

Le sénateur Daniel Lang annoncé aujourd’hui, au nom de l’honorable John Duncan, ministre de l’Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor ), que le gouvernement du Canada entend investir 10 714 000 $ dans un vaste éventail de programmes géoscientifiques au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest et au Nunavut. Cet investissement stimulera l’exploration et la mise en valeur des minéraux, et mettra aussi à la disposition des territoires de meilleures données pour leur planification de l’aménagement des terres, la construction routière, le travail archéologique et les industries culturelles.

« C’est avec fierté que notre gouvernement investit dans ces programmes, qui permettront au Yukon, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut d’élargir leurs compétences géoscientifiques, qui sont déjà considérables, a affirmé le sénateur Lang. Ces programmes constituent d’importants outils de développement économique et de gestion des ressources naturelles. »

« Ces projets viennent confirmer la priorité que le gouvernement accorde au Nord. Ils se traduiront par toute une série de retombées et de possibilités économiques pour les résidants du Nord, a déclaré le ministre Duncan, qui est aussi ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits. L’information ainsi recueillie réduira le risque économique auquel sont exposées les sociétés minières, aidera à attirer les investissements dans l’exploration, et contribuera à la croissance du secteur minier, qui constitue l’industrie du secteur privé la plus importante dans les territoires. »

« La Commission géologique du Yukon fournit l’information de base à l’appui de l’investissement dans l’exploration, à la prise de décisions sur l’aménagement des terres, et à la création d’une infrastructure, a ajouté Patrick Rouble, ministre de l’Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources. Le gouvernement du Yukon est très heureux de cette collaboration avec CanNor en vue d’assurer la croissance continue du secteur minier au Yukon. »

« Nous sommes heureux que le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Nunavut fournissent encore les fonds nécessaires pour faire le tracé géologique du Nunavut, a expliqué Peter Taptuna, ministre du Développement économique et des Transports au gouvernement du Nunavut. Cette information est indispensable aux entreprises en quête de ressources dans un territoire qui couvre 20 % de la masse terrestre du Canada. Nous avons bon espoir que les entreprises se serviront de cette information pour embaucher des résidants du Nunavut en vue de trouver la pierre à sculpter et les autres ressources qui pourraient donner lieu à la création de mines. »

« Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest recèlent un immense potentiel pour les ressources naturelles, a souligné Bob McLeod, ministre de l'Industrie, du Tourisme et de l'Investissement du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. La détermination complète et exacte des emplacements des minéraux et des ressources énergétiques est indispensable pour libérer ce potentiel. Le partenariat grâce auquel nos gouvernements investissent dans des projets géoscientifiques dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest est la clé des progrès réalisés dans la mise en valeur de nos ressources. »

Ces investissements sont possibles grâce au programme Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord (ISDEN) de CanNor , lequel est axé sur la croissance économique à long terme, la diversification économique et le renforcement des capacités dans les trois territoires.

 

 

Veuillez visiter les sites Web pour en savoir davantage sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada et pour la Stratégie pour le Nord.

 

Renseignements :

Bureau de l'honorable John Duncan
Michele Jamali-Paquette
Attachée de presse
819-997-0002

Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord
Erin Macpherson
Conseillère en communications, région du Yukon
867-667-3849

Craig Welsh
Conseiller en communications, région du Nunavut
867-975-3735

Petra White
Conseillère en communications, région du Nunavut
867-766-8435

Gouvernement du Yukon – Énergie, Mines et Ressources
Mark Roberts
Directeur des communications
867-667-5307

Gouvernement du Nunavut – Développement économique et Transports
Matthew Illaszewicz
Gestionnaire, Communications
867-975-7818

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
John Ketchum
Géologue en chef et gestionnaire, GTNO
NWT Geoscience Office
867-669-2498

Scott Cairns
Géologue en chef et gestionnaire, AINC
NWT Geoscience Office
867-669-2479

 
 

Vous pouvez recevoir toutes nos nouvelles et nos mises à jour médiatiques automatiquement. Visitez notre Fil RSS pour obtenir plus d'information, ou pour vous y inscrire.