Service Standards for Program Delivery

Background

The Policy on Transfer Payments requires the establishment of departmental Service Standards for federal transfer payment programs. Under Section 6.5.9, the Deputy Head is responsible for establishing reasonable and practical departmental service standards for transfer payment programs . The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (herein referred to as "the Agency") has developed Service Standards to support its mandate: to advance economic development in Nunavut, the Northwest Territories, and Yukon.

The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) works to create a diversified, sustainable, and dynamic economy across Canada’s three territories that supports prosperity for all Northerners, Aboriginal people, and their communities. Providing good and effective client service is paramount to fulfilling this mandate. Hence, the need for sound and consistent management practices when delivering services to proponents is critical to the success of the Agency.

The Agency’s Service Standards aim to measure the level of performance (i.e. timeliness) that proponents can expect when submitting funding and payment requests under its programs. The Service Standards are expressed in measurable terms (e.g. number of days and percentage of achievement) and provide guidance to Agency employees involved in delivering Agency programs. Simply put, they represent the level of Client service that all Agency personnel must strive to attain. Only proper due diligence should take precedence over meeting Client Service Standards.

The Service Standards are accompanied by detailed internal procedures to be followed in order to accurately capture and record dates.

Definitions

Service Standards: a measurable level of performance that proponents can expect when requesting funding under CanNor managed contribution programs.

Acknowledgment Letter: a form letter or email sent to a proponent to acknowledge receipt of a letter of intent, a project proposal or an application for assistance. The document provides the proponent with a project number to be used in future communications with the Agency, as well as Agency contact information.

Proponent: applicant and recipient for CanNor managed contribution programs.

Net Business Days: the number of business days minus the business days during which the Agency is waiting for additional information that has been requested from the proponent.

Policies and Procedures

A common approach to service standards across all CanNor Programs

When it comes to great customer service, consistency is key. Our proponents expect a similar kind of service regardless of the program they are interested in. The Agency adheres to a common service standard to help clarify expectations for both proponents and our employees involved in project funding.

Service standards are an opportunity for CanNor employees involved in the delivery of economic development funding to gain a better understanding and build better relationships with our proponents. It allows us to define the nature and level of services we are aiming to provide, and clarifies expectations proponents might have when seeking funding through one of our Programs.

Northern Aboriginal Economic Development Program (NAEOP)

Through the Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program (NAEOP) CanNor supports increased participation by northern Inuit, Métis and First Nations communities and businesses in economic opportunities. Support under NAEOP is complementary to the support for Northern Aboriginal people provided through programs of general application and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)’s programs of national application.

To align with the Framework’s priorities and enable a region-specific approach to the delivery of Aboriginal Economic Development (AED) programming, starting in April 2014, CanNor is harmonizing and streamlining its four AED programs:

  • CanNor’s Aboriginal Business Development Program (ABDP),
  • Community Economic Development Program (CEDP),
  • Community Support Services Program (CSSP); and
  • Community Economic Opportunities Program (CEOP)

These programs are consolidated to provide project-based support through two sub-program streams:

  • Community Readiness and Opportunities Planning (CROP); and
  • Entrepreneurship and Business Development (EBD).

Business Development

CanNor supports the growth and expansion of northern businesses, including small and medium-sized enterprises, through partnerships and contributions. The activity’s objective is to encourage a competitive, diverse northern business sector with a strengthened capacity for innovation.

CanNor’s flagship contribution program under this program activity is the Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development (SINED) initiative. SINED contributes funding, as well as other forms of support to the development of proposals that aim to strengthen economic drivers, diversify the economy, increase the participation of Northerners in the marketplace, and improve the co-ordination of federal programs.

1. Service Standards - External

Acknowledging an Expression of Interest

STANDARD

  • Within ten (10) business days of receiving an expression of interest, the Agency will send an Acknowledgment – letter or email - to the Proponent.

TARGET

  • The Agency aims to meet this standard 90% of the time.

Acknowledging an Application

STANDARD

  • Within ten (10) business days of receiving a signed application for funding, the Agency will send an Acknowledgment – letter or email - to the Proponent.

TARGET

  • The Agency aims to meet this standard 90% of the time.

Rendering a Funding Decision

STANDARD

  • Within ninety (90) Net Business Days of receiving a signed and complete application, the Agency will render a funding decision (i.e. approval, rejection or withdrawal).

TARGET

  • The Agency aims to meet this standard 90% of the time.

Rendering a Payment Decision

STANDARD

  • Proponents will receive a payment from the Agency within ten (10) Net Business Days of a scheduled payment.

TARGET

  • The Agency aims to meet this standard 90% of the time.
Date modified:

Normes de service relatives à la prestation des programmes de CanNor

Contexte

Dans le cadre de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, il a fallu établir des normes de service ministérielles pour les programmes de paiements de transfert fédéraux. En vertu de l’article 6.5.9, l’administrateur général est responsable d’établir des normes de service raisonnables et pratiques pour les programmes de paiements de transfert du ministère. L’Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (ci-après dénommée « l’Agence ») a élaboré des normes de service à l’appui de son mandat de promouvoir le développement économique au Nunavut, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon.

L’Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) s’efforce de bâtir, dans l’ensemble des trois territoires du Canada, une économie diversifiée, durable et dynamique qui contribue à la prospérité de tous les résidants du Nord, des Autochtones et de leurs collectivités. C’est pourquoi l’Agence doit fournir un service de qualité et efficace à la clientèle. Par conséquent, l’adoption de pratiques de gestion saines et cohérentes dans la prestation de services aux promoteurs est absolument essentielle au succès de l’Agence.

Les normes de service de l’Agence visent à mesurer le rendement (c.-à-d. la rapidité d’exécution) auquel peut s’attendre le promoteur lorsqu’il présente des demandes de financement et de paiement en vertu de ses programmes. Les normes de service sont décrites en termes mesurables (nombre de jours et pourcentage d’application) et fournissent une orientation aux employés qui participent à l’exécution des programmes offerts par l’Agence. Autrement dit, il s’agit du niveau de service à la clientèle que doit viser tout le personnel de l’Agence. Seule la diligence raisonnable doit avoir préséance sur le respect des normes de service à la clientèle.

Les normes de service sont accompagnées de procédures détaillées à suivre pour la consignation et l’enregistrement exacts des dates.

Définitions

Normes de service : Niveau de rendement mesurable auquel le promoteur peut s’attendre lorsqu’il présente une demande de financement dans le cadre des programmes de contribution gérés par CanNor.

Accusé de réception d’une lettre : Lettre ou courriel type envoyé à un promoteur pour accuser réception d’une lettre d’intention, d’une proposition de projet ou d’une demande d’aide. Ce document contient les coordonnées de l’Agence et indique au promoteur le numéro de projet qu’il devra utiliser dans ses communications ultérieures avec elle.

Promoteur : Demandeur et bénéficiaire des programmes de contribution gérés par CanNor.

Nombre de jours ouvrables nets : Nombre de jours ouvrables, moins le nombre de jours ouvrables pendant lesquels l’Agence attend l’information supplémentaire demandée au promoteur.

Politique et procédures

Approche commune à adopter à l’égard des normes de service pour tous les programmes de CanNor

La cohérence est la clé du service à la clientèle. Nos promoteurs s’attendent au même genre de services, quel que soit le programme qui les intéresse. L’Agence adopte des normes de service communes pour aider à clarifier les attentes des promoteurs, de même que celles des employés chargés du financement des projets.

Les normes de service constituent une bonne occasion pour les employés de CanNor responsables du financement des programmes de développement économique de mieux comprendre les promoteurs et de bâtir de meilleures relations avec eux. Elles nous permettent également d’établir la nature et le niveau des services que nous visons à offrir, et précisent les attentes que pourraient avoir les promoteurs lorsqu’ils tentent d’obtenir des fonds par l’entremise de l’un de nos programmes.

Programme d’opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord (POEAN)

Dans le cadre du Programme d’opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord (POEAN), CanNor soutient la participation accrue des collectivités et des entreprises des Inuits, des Métis et des Premières Nations du Nord aux possibilités économiques. L’aide consentie dans le cadre du POEAN se superpose à l’aide fournie aux Autochtones du Nord au moyen des programmes d’application générale, ainsi que des programmes nationaux d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC).

À partir d’avril 2014, CanNor harmonisera et simplifiera ses quatre programmes de développement économique des Autochtones (DEA) afin de s’aligner sur les priorités du Cadre et de permettre une prestation du DEA propre à chaque région :

  • Programme de développement des entreprises autochtones (PDEA) de CanNor;
  • Programme de développement économique des communautés (PDEC);
  • Programme de services de soutien aux communautés (PSSC);
  • Programme d’opportunités économiques pour les communautés (POEC).

Ces programmes sont regroupés en deux volets afin d’offrir un soutien axé sur les projets :

  • Programme de préparation des collectivités aux possibilités économiques (PPCPE);
  • Développement de l’entrepreneuriat et des entreprises (DEE).

Développement des entreprises

CanNor appuie la croissance et l’expansion des entreprises du Nord, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises, au moyen de partenariats et de contributions. L’objectif de cette activité de programme est de soutenir la capacité concurrentielle et la diversité du secteur des affaires dans le Nord en renforçant la capacité d’innovation de ce dernier.

Le principal programme de contribution de CanNor associé à cette activité de programme est Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord (ISDEN). Ce dernier offre du financement et d’autres formes de soutien pour l’élaboration de propositions visant à renforcer les facteurs économiques, à diversifier l’économie, à accroître la participation des résidants du Nord au marché et à améliorer la coordination des programmes fédéraux.

1. Normes de service — Externe

Accusé de réception d’une déclaration d’intérêt

NORME

  • Dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la réception d’une déclaration d’intérêt, l’Agence envoie un accusé de réception (une lettre ou un courriel) au promoteur.

OBJECTIF

  • L’Agence vise à respecter cette norme dans 90 % des cas.

Accusé de réception d’une demande

NORME

  • Dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la réception d’une demande de financement signée, l’Agence envoie un accusé de réception (une lettre ou un courriel) au promoteur.

OBJECTIF

  • L’Agence vise à respecter cette norme dans 90 % des cas.

Annonce d’une décision de financement

NORME

  • Dans les quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours ouvrables nets suivant la réception d’une demande d’aide remplie et signée, l’Agence rend une décision relative au financement (approbation, refus ou retrait).

OBJECTIF

  • L’Agence vise à respecter cette norme dans 90 % des cas.

Annonce d’une décision de paiement

NORME

  • Dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables nets suivant la date de versement prévue, le promoteur recevra un paiement de l’Agence.

OBJECTIF

  • L’Agence vise à respecter cette norme dans 90 % des cas.
Date de modification :