Regulatory Systems in the territories

Before a proposed major project in each of the territories can go ahead, it must go through a regulatory process that includes an environmental assessment, and then acquire required licenses, permits and authorizations.

The concerns of Indigenous peoples and other members of the public are considered through a public environmental assessment process before decisions are made on whether a major project should go ahead or not.

The regulatory systems in Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon are based on unique legal and cultural frameworks resulting from land claims agreements, and devolution processes in Northwest Territories (2014) and Yukon (2003). Devolution involved the transfer of powers, including land and water management, from the federal government to the territorial governments. Nunavut is also currently working towards devolution. Discussions and negotiations are underway to transfer and devolve responsibilities and powers for land and resource management to the Government of Nunavut from the Government of Canada.

NPMO continues to provide support and work collaboratively with territorial governments to ensure that these regulatory processes are focused, efficient and transparent, and to help advance major projects in a sustainable way. All of the territorial review board processes are public and project information is placed on their Public Registries.

For more information on Final Agreements and Related Implementation Matters, please visit:

Learn more about devolution in the territories:

Date modified:

Systèmes de réglementation dans les territoires

Avant qu'un grand projet proposé dans chacun des territoires puisse être mis en œuvre, il doit suivre un processus réglementaire qui comprend une évaluation environnementale, puis acquérir les licences, permis et autorisations nécessaires.

Les préoccupations des peuples autochtones et des autres membres du public sont prises en compte dans le cadre d'un processus public d'évaluation environnementale avant que des décisions ne soient prises sur la réalisation ou non d'un grand projet.

Les systèmes de réglementation du Nunavut, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Yukon sont fondés sur des cadres juridiques et culturels uniques résultant des accords sur les revendications territoriales et des processus de dévolution dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (2014) et au Yukon (2003). La dévolution concerne le transfert de pouvoirs, y compris la gestion des terres et des eaux, du gouvernement fédéral aux gouvernements territoriaux. Le Nunavut travaille aussi actuellement à la dévolution. Des discussions et des négociations sont en cours pour transférer au gouvernement du Nunavut les responsabilités et les pouvoirs du gouvernement du Canada en matière de gestion des terres et des ressources.

Le BGPN continue d'apporter son soutien et de travailler en collaboration avec les gouvernements territoriaux pour s'assurer que ces processus réglementaires sont ciblés, efficaces et transparents, et pour aider à faire avancer les grands projets de manière durable. Tous les processus des commissions territoriales d'examen sont publics et l'information sur les projets sont placées dans leurs registres publics.

Pour plus d'informations sur les accords définitifs et les questions de mise en œuvre connexes, veuillez consulter les ressources suivantes :

Pour en savoir plus sur le transfert des responsabilités aux territoires :

Date de modification :