Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy — What We Heard

Introduction

In April 2017, the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science, and Economic Development, announced that Canada's six Regional Development Agencies would develop individual regional growth strategies to advance inclusive economic growth based on the unique strengths and opportunities of their respective regions.

The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) is developing a Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy (PTGS). The purpose of this Strategy is to help stimulate economic growth, reflecting the unique advantages of each territory. The PTGS will help advance the Innovation and Skills Plan as well as the economic elements of the Arctic and Northern Policy Framework across the territories.

CanNor has proposed the following four action areas to focus its activities, in collaboration with its partners and stakeholders, over the next five years:

From January to March 2019, CanNor undertook a series of engagement activities to confirm whether these were the right areas of action. This report summarizes the broad range of views, considerations and ideas brought forward, and outlines some of the major themes that emerged during the engagement period. This information will help guide CanNor's strategic approach towards future investments and activities in the territories.

Engagement Snapshot

6
Roundtables

82
In-Person Participants

1,067
Online platform visits

Sessions Held In

  • Vancouver, BC
    (Association for Mineral Exploration's Roundup Conference)
  • Whitehorse, YT
  • Inuvik, NT
  • Yellowknife, NT
  • Iqaluit, NU
  • Ottawa, ON

Overarching Themes

Throughout the engagement period, participants emphasized the need to work with communities, the private sector and local organizations to build sustainable and diversified economies, and that the participation of Indigenous governments and organizations will be key to achieving success. Participants emphasized the need for Indigenous economic reconciliation. They stressed the need to close the economic gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Northerners. In addition, participants acknowledged the role that Indigenous peoples must play in shaping the economic future of the territories.

A key factor will also be getting the scale and scope of the opportunity right. In some cases, this may mean "scaling up" by expanding good ideas, reaching new markets, or servicing new areas. Though, in smaller, more remote operating environments, it may mean "scaling down" in order to suit a smaller, more remote, operating environment that may not have the capacity to support a large enterprise or multiple small competitors. In addition, it was recognized that the various economic sectors in the North do not operate in isolation and that it will be important to leverage current interdependencies present in the northern economy to achieve the appropriate scale. However, the lack of foundational assets (e.g. transportation and broadband infrastructure) and broader socio-economic challenges (e.g., food insecurity, housing) hinders economic growth and the ability of Northerners to fully participate in the economy.

Overall, there was a consensus that the four action areas presented were the right ones. Participants also recognized the potential for CanNor to amplify northern voices at the federal level. They felt that the Agency could provide a unified voice for the territories and act as a direct line of communication to the Government of Canada in regards to the action areas below.

Action Areas

Resource development

The mining and oil and gas industries have an important role in the viability and economic opportunities within the North. Participants expressed the need to focus on the entire resource development cycle from exploration to reclamation in order to maximize jobs and wealth within the territories. Participants mentioned that the tripartite (federal, territorial, Indigenous) nature of the territorial regulatory structures is progressive and something to be proud of and to continue to work to improve

Participants expressed the importance for resource companies and governments to work with nearby communities and people across the regions. Some participants expressed that they are seeking to modernize the Impact Benefit Agreements in order to derive greater financial, economic and environmental outcomes. Modernized agreements could help develop capacity for Indigenous people to compete for higher skilled jobs and compete more effectively for contracts. In addition, some groups are seeking more meaningful partnerships in major projects which could result in reduced economic leakage.

The higher cost of doing business in the North may also deter smaller companies from investing in resource development in the territories. In addition, concerns were expressed regarding the limited investments in mineral exploration in the North, and what that may mean for the future of the industry.

Participants mentioned that the government's emphasis on economic diversification sends mixed messages to the mining sector working in the territories. They stressed that the current framing of terms such as clean technology/growth and innovation can be perceived as a shift away from the mining industry, when in fact the mining industry is an essential part of the development of new technologies and is also a technologically advanced sector. Some participants felt there is continued need for government to publicly recognize the importance of the mining sector and to actively promote investment in the sector.

In addition, participants stressed the interconnectedness of resource development with other economic sectors. For example, participants mentioned the need for decision makers to consider how infrastructure associated with major resource development projects could be better leveraged to also meet community needs. Moreover, the participants emphasized the opportunity to harness skills training initiatives to help build a northern workforce for these sectors.

Economic diversification and innovation

Participants recognized that the tourism sector is a growing industry in the territories, particularly in the capitals. They emphasized various opportunities for future growth: from the opening up of the Northwest Passage to accommodate cruise ships, to experiential tourism, such as guided hunting tours on the land. However, participants stressed the lack of basic tourism products, services and amenities as a source of difficulty for smaller communities. They also mentioned the need to increase connectivity in the North in order to keep pace with evolving tourism industry standards. Nevertheless, there are opportunities to leverage the growth of tourism to support initiatives under the other areas of action. For example, visitors could tour mine sites, including historic ones; after they have gone through remediation.

Other participants saw the potential for increasing the knowledge economy in the North. By leveraging the unique landscape, the history, and the environment, the North can strengthen its ability to be a leader in areas such as cold climate research innovation. Yukon College's evolution to a hybrid university and the Government of the Northwest Territories' exploring the possibility of a polytechnic university are examples of initiatives to support the knowledge economy. However, challenges remain with regard to obtaining socio-economic information to support decision-making. Specifically, access to regularly updated information on population wellbeing and implementing appropriate measures for the economic health of communities remains difficult.

In measuring a business's success, there was a strong desire to include its contribution to the broader health of the community. With this in mind, participants highlighted the need for greater support for social enterprises and recognition of the important role they play within the overall economic ecosystem. For example some Indigenous organizations are teaching their people how to create traditional Indigenous products, which helps preserve their culture while generating income. Participants noted that Indigenous Development Corporations and community co-operatives contribute to building strong communities, while also providing necessary business services.

Participants emphasized the need for strengthening, developing and diversifying the fisheries industry for inshore and offshore production. They mentioned difficulties in obtaining the appropriate licenses to harvest the fish in adjacent waters. They also raised the need for additional fisheries research to determine quotas for new fisheries and to track and monitor harvested stocks.

Participants noted that by having greater access to country food, they could avoid the high costs of shipping food to the North. Investments in local agricultural production could also contribute to lowering the cost of food. For instance some northern agriculture producers are using new technology to extend the growing season, increasing access to local foods. However, some producers noted a shortage of labour has prevented them from expanding their operations.

Participants repeatedly brought up the entrepreneurial and resourceful determination of Northerners. They referenced the art and cultural economy, and the fur industry as key components of the entrepreneurial sector in smaller communities. For example, Inuvik has developed an arts and crafts-focused micro-manufacturing facility that provides access to laser engraving, silk screening, and 3D printing equipment for local artists. Due to growing demand for Northern products (e.g. fur-lined coats), participants identified opportunities to expand into southern markets. However, the lack of basic infrastructure and the high cost of shipping limits access to markets, which prevents communities from growing these industries.

Participants indicated that southern models for success may not work in the North because northern sectors are much more reliant on one another's success. Projects such as incubators have resonated as an opportunity to support the interdependency between business sectors within the northern economy and northern entrepreneurship. For example, a Whitehorse-based non-profit organization, though the completion of their NorthLight Innovation building, is providing access to space, tools, expertise and a collaborative environment to help entrepreneurs in the Yukon develop and grow their business. Participants expressed a desire to replicate a similar model in other communities across the territories.

Infrastructure investments and development

Throughout all engagement activities, participants repeatedly expressed the need for significant investments in infrastructure across the territories. They also brought up concerns of being left behind southern Canada and its circumpolar neighbors. Infrastructure investments are needed for transportation, energy generation and transmission, and telecommunications, but also for community-level infrastructure, such as housing, water and waste management facilities, and local healthcare. Participants also highlighted the importance of investing in the maintenance and upgrading of existing infrastructure.

Participants emphasized that there is a need for the development of a coordinated and integrated approach to infrastructure investment across the territories. This can be reflected by aligning the needs and resources of stakeholders (private, public, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), etc.) to develop a strategic approach which fosters economic growth and enhances northern sovereignty. Participants recognized that the Government of Canada could play the role of convener for the development of a coordinated infrastructure plan across the territories.

Skilled workforce

Participants identified several barriers to workforce participation. Lack of transportation, equipment, and access to affordable child care can lead to a shortage of workers at all levels (not just skilled) and prevent some businesses from operating at their full potential, resulting in reduced economic growth potential.

The lack of training opportunities contributes to the persistence of a skills gap in certain communities. This skills gap represents a barrier to advancement and job mobility for Northerners. In some cases, it is less expensive to fly skilled employees in and out of the North than it is to train local employees. This limits access to local jobs and contributes to economic leakage as transitory employees spend their salaries in southern economies. Participants also mentioned that certain licenses and professional certifications can only be obtained in southern parts of the country, which requires Northerners to leave their communities to obtain the necessary qualifications and in some cases not returning. Participants mentioned a desire to explore customized certification schemes that are better adapted to the needs and requirements of the North. This approach could allow more individuals to acquire the necessary skills through mentorships and apprenticeships in their own communities, thus contributing to greater community readiness.

Participants proposed several solutions to better adapt the educational opportunities to the realities of the North. They noted that sectorial coordination among businesses to work collaboratively and the development of a sustainable workforce strategy could be beneficial. Such a plan could include exposing youth to the careers of today and tomorrow, providing prospective courses tailored to regional needs and providing workshops that have progressive modules as opposed to isolated skills development. Proper implementation would require close collaboration with all educational institutions, territorial governments and private sector stakeholders as well as the presence of effective broadband infrastructure.

Finally, participants mentioned that it can be difficult for communities, regions and organizations to identify which specific skills are currently needed and which ones will be in future demand. However, organizations and communities identified entrepreneurship and resource development as key areas of interest. Multipurpose training facilities and community mentorship programs were identified as potential pathways to developing the workplace skills and knowledge required for long term employment.

Next Steps

The feedback received through CanNor's in person engagement activities and through the online forum was helpful, and we sincerely thank all those who participated. The final strategy will be developed and launched in 2019.

Date modified:

Stratégie de croissance panterritoriale — Ce que nous avons entendu

Introduction

En avril 2017, l'honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, a annoncé que chacun des six organismes de développement régional du Canada élaborerait ses propres stratégies de croissance régionale pour favoriser une croissance économique inclusive fondée sur les forces et les possibilités uniques de chaque région.

L'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) prépare la Stratégie de croissance panterritoriale (la Stratégie). L'objectif de cette stratégie est de contribuer à stimuler la croissance économique, qui reflète les avantages uniques de chaque territoire. Elle aidera à mettre en place le Plan pour l'innovation et les compétences ainsi que les aspects économiques du Cadre stratégique pour l'Arctique dans l'ensemble des territoires.

CanNor a proposé les quatre domaines d'action suivants pour orienter ses activités, en collaboration avec ses partenaires et intervenants, au cours des cinq prochaines années :

De janvier à mars 2019, CanNor a entrepris une série d'activités de mobilisation pour vérifier si ces domaines d'action étaient les bons. Le présent rapport résume la vaste gamme de points de vue, de considérations et de recommandations présentés, et décrit certains des principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis au cours de la période de mobilisation. Ces renseignements aideront à orienter l'approche stratégique de CanNor quant aux investissements qu'elle fera et aux activités qu'elle réalisera dans les territoires.

Aperçu de l'engagement

6
Tables rondes

82
Participants en personne

1 067
Visites sur la plateforme en ligne

Lieu des séances

  • Vancouver (C.-B.)
    (Conférence de l'Association for Mineral Exploration)
  • Yellowknife (T.N.-O.)
  • Whitehorse (Yukon)
  • Iqaluit (Nunavut)
  • Inuvik (T.N.-O.)
  • Ottawa (Ontario)

Thèmes généraux

Tout au long de la période de mobilisation, les participants ont insisté sur la nécessité de travailler avec les collectivités, le secteur privé et les organisations locales pour bâtir des économies durables et diversifiées, et sur le fait que la réussite dépendra de la participation des gouvernements et des organisations autochtones. Ils ont par ailleurs souligné la nécessité d'une réconciliation économique avec les Autochtones, et le besoin de combler l'écart économique entre ces derniers et les non-Autochtones du Nord. De plus, les participants ont reconnu le rôle que doivent jouer les peuples autochtones dans l'avenir économique des territoires.

Un facteur clé consistera également à bien définir l'ampleur et la portée de l'occasion qui se présente. Dans certains cas, il peut s'agir d'étendre la Stratégie en concrétisant de bonnes idées, en explorant de nouveaux marchés ou en servant de nouveaux secteurs. À l'inverse, dans des milieux d'exploitation plus petits et plus éloignés, il pourrait s'agir de réduire la portée de la Stratégie de façon à l'adapter à ces milieux, qui n'ont peut-être pas la capacité de soutenir une grande entreprise ou plusieurs petits concurrents. De plus, les participants ont indiqué que les divers secteurs économiques du Nord ne fonctionnent pas de façon isolée et qu'il sera important de tirer parti des interdépendances actuelles de l'économie du Nord pour atteindre l'échelle appropriée. Toutefois, le manque d'actifs fondamentaux (p. ex. l'infrastructure de transport et la bande passante) et, plus globalement, les défis socioéconomiques (p. ex. insécurité alimentaire, logement) entravent la croissance économique et la capacité des résidents du Nord à participer pleinement à l'économie.

Dans l'ensemble, les participants se sont entendus pour dire que les quatre domaines d'action présentés étaient adéquats. Les participants étaient également d'avis que CanNor pourrait être un bon porte-parole pour faire connaître le point de vue du Nord à l'échelle fédérale. Ils estimaient que l'Agence pourrait parler d'une même voix au nom des territoires et agir comme ligne de communication directe avec le gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne les domaines d'action ci-dessous.

Domaines d'action

Développement des ressources

Les industries minières, pétrolières et gazières jouent un rôle important à l'égard de la viabilité et des possibilités économiques du Nord. Les participants ont expliqué qu'il fallait se concentrer sur l'ensemble du cycle de mise en valeur des ressources, de l'exploration à la restauration, afin de maximiser la création d'emplois et la richesse dans les territoires. Les participants ont mentionné que la nature tripartite (fédérale, territoriale, autochtone) des structures de réglementation territoriales est progressiste et qu'il y a de quoi être fier et continuer à travailler pour améliorer.

Ils ont également souligné l'importance pour les entreprises du secteur des ressources et les gouvernements de travailler avec les collectivités avoisinantes et les personnes de toutes les régions. Certains participants ont déclaré qu'ils cherchent à moderniser les ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages afin d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats financiers, économiques et environnementaux. Ainsi revues, ces ententes pourraient aider à renforcer la capacité des peuples autochtones à se faire concurrence pour obtenir des emplois plus qualifiés et à se faire concurrence plus efficacement pour obtenir des contrats. De plus, certains groupes souhaitent conclure des partenariats plus significatifs dans des projets d'envergure, ce qui réduirait les fuites économiques.

Le coût plus élevé des affaires dans le Nord pourrait également dissuader les petites entreprises d'investir dans la mise en valeur des ressources dans les territoires. En outre, des préoccupations ont été exprimées au sujet des investissements limités dans l'exploration minérale dans le Nord et de ce que cela pourrait signifier pour l'avenir de l'industrie.

Les participants ont mentionné que l'accent mis par le gouvernement sur la diversification économique envoie des messages contradictoires au secteur minier dans les territoires. Selon eux, des termes utilisés actuellement, comme « technologie propre » ou « croissance et innovation », peuvent laisser entendre que le gouvernement souhaite se détourner de l'industrie minière, alors que l'industrie représente un secteur de pointe en matière de technologie et est un acteur essentiel du développement des nouvelles technologies. Certains participants étaient d'avis que le gouvernement doit continuer de reconnaître publiquement l'importance du secteur des mines et de promouvoir activement l'investissement dans ce secteur.

En outre, les participants ont souligné l'interdépendance de la mise en valeur des ressources avec d'autres secteurs économiques. Ils ont notamment mentionné la nécessité pour les décideurs d'examiner comment l'infrastructure associée aux grands projets de mise en valeur des ressources pourrait être mieux exploitée pour répondre également aux besoins des collectivités. De plus, ils ont insisté sur la possibilité de mettre à profit les initiatives de formation professionnelle pour aider à former une main-d'œuvre nordique dans les secteurs visés.

Diversification économique et innovation

Les participants ont reconnu que le secteur du tourisme est une industrie en croissance dans les territoires, en particulier dans les capitales. Ils ont mis l'accent sur diverses possibilités de croissance future : de l'ouverture du passage du Nord-Ouest pour accueillir les navires de croisière, au tourisme expérientiel, comme les excursions de chasse guidées sur la terre ferme. Ils ont toutefois souligné que le manque de produits, de services et de commodités touristiques de base constituait une source de difficultés pour les petites collectivités. Ils ont également mentionné la nécessité d'accroître la connectivité dans le Nord afin de suivre l'évolution des normes de l'industrie touristique. Néanmoins, il existe des possibilités de tirer parti de la croissance du tourisme pour soutenir des initiatives dans les autres domaines d'action. Les visiteurs pourraient par exemple visiter des sites miniers, y compris des sites historiques, une fois qu'ils auront été restaurés.

D'autres participants ont vu la possibilité de renforcer l'économie du savoir dans le Nord. En tirant parti de son paysage unique, de son histoire et de son environnement, le Nord peut renforcer sa capacité à devenir un chef de file dans des domaines comme l'innovation en recherche sur le climat froid. La transformation du Collège du Yukon en université hybride et l'exploration par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest de la possibilité de créer une université polytechnique sont des exemples d'initiatives visant à soutenir l'économie du savoir. Il reste encore néanmoins des défis à relever en ce qui concerne l'obtention de renseignements socioéconomiques pour appuyer la prise de décisions. Il reste en particulier difficile d'avoir accès à de l'information régulièrement mise à jour sur le bien-être de la population et de mettre en œuvre des mesures pertinentes pour assurer la santé économique d'une communauté.

Parmi les indicateurs de réussite d'une entreprise, la contribution de celle-ci à la santé générale de la collectivité a été souvent nommée. Dans cette optique, les participants ont souligné la nécessité de mieux soutenir les entreprises sociales et de reconnaître le rôle important qu'elles jouent dans l'écosystème économique global. Par exemple, certaines organisations autochtones enseignent à leur peuple comment créer des produits autochtones traditionnels; elles contribuent ainsi à préserver leur culture tout en générant un revenu. Les participants ont souligné que les sociétés de développement autochtones et les coopératives communautaires contribuent à bâtir des collectivités fortes, tout en fournissant les services d'affaires qui sont leur raison d'être.

Les participants ont souligné la nécessité de renforcer, de développer et de diversifier l'industrie de la pêche pour favoriser la production côtière et hauturière. Ils ont parlé de la difficulté d'obtenir les permis exigés pour récolter le poisson dans les eaux adjacentes. Ils ont également indiqué qu'il fallait effectuer d'autres recherches afin d'établir les quotas pour les nouvelles pêches ainsi que de suivre et de surveiller les stocks récoltés.

Les participants ont fait remarquer qu'en ayant un meilleur accès à la nourriture traditionnelle, ils pourraient éviter de payer les coûts élevés de l'expédition des aliments vers le Nord. L'investissement dans la production agricole locale pourrait également contribuer à réduire le coût des denrées alimentaires. Par exemple, certains producteurs agricoles du Nord utilisent de nouvelles technologies pour prolonger la saison de croissance et accroître l'accès aux aliments locaux. Cependant, certains producteurs ont déclaré qu'une pénurie de main-d'œuvre les a empêchés d'étendre leurs activités.

Les participants ont mentionné à maintes reprises l'esprit d'entreprise et la débrouillardise des habitants du Nord, soulignant que l'économie de l'art et de la culture, ainsi que l'industrie de la fourrure étaient des éléments clés du secteur entrepreneurial dans les petites collectivités. À titre d'exemple, Inuvik a mis sur pied une installation de microfabrication axée sur les arts et l'artisanat qui donne aux artistes locaux l'accès à de l'équipement de gravure au laser, de sérigraphie et d'impression 3D. Les participants voient dans la demande croissante de produits du Nord (p. ex. manteaux doublés de fourrure) des possibilités d'expansion vers le Sud. Toutefois, le manque d'infrastructures de base et le coût d'expédition élevé limitent leur accès aux marchés, ce qui empêche les collectivités de développer ces industries.

Les participants ont indiqué que les modèles de réussite du Sud pourraient ne pas fonctionner dans le Nord parce que les secteurs du Nord dépendent beaucoup plus les uns des autres. Des projets comme les incubateurs d'entreprises pourraient être un moyen de soutenir d'une part, l'interdépendance entre les secteurs d'activité de l'économie du Nord et, d'autre part, l'entrepreneuriat dans le Nord. Par exemple, un organisme sans but lucratif établi à Whitehorse, avec l'achèvement de l'édifice NorthLight Innovation, offre aux entrepreneurs du Yukon l'accès à des locaux, à des outils, à de l'expertise et à un environnement de collaboration pour les aider à développer et à faire croître leur entreprise. Les participants ont exprimé le désir de reproduire un modèle semblable dans leurs collectivités, partout dans les territoires.

Investissements et développement de l'infrastructure

Tout au long des activités de mobilisation, les participants ont répété qu'il fallait faire des investissements importants dans l'infrastructure de l'ensemble des territoires. Ils ont également exprimé la crainte d'être à la traîne du Sud et de leurs voisins circumpolaires. Il faut investir dans les transports, dans la production et le transport d'énergie ainsi que dans les télécommunications, mais aussi dans l'infrastructure communautaire, comme le logement, les installations de gestion de l'eau et des déchets, et les soins de santé locaux. Les participants ont également souligné l'importance d'investir dans l'entretien et la modernisation des infrastructures existantes.

Les participants ont insisté sur la nécessité d'aborder les investissements dans l'infrastructure de l'ensemble des territoires de manière coordonnée et intégrée. Cela peut se traduire par l'harmonisation des besoins et des ressources des intervenants (privés, publics, à but non lucratif, etc.) pour élaborer une approche stratégique qui favorise la croissance économique et qui renforce la souveraineté du Nord. Les participants ont reconnu que le gouvernement du Canada pourrait jouer le rôle de rassembleur quant à la mise en place d'un plan d'infrastructure coordonné dans les territoires.

Main-d'œuvre qualifiée

Les participants ont ciblé plusieurs obstacles à la participation au marché du travail. Le manque de transport et d'équipement et l'accès limité à des services abordables de garde d'enfants peuvent entraîner une pénurie de travailleurs à tous les niveaux (pas seulement dans les emplois spécialisés) et empêcher certaines entreprises de fonctionner à leur plein potentiel. Au final, le potentiel de croissance économique en souffre.

Le manque de compétences dans certaines collectivités est un problème persistant en raison du manque de possibilités de formation. Ce manque de compétences constitue d'ailleurs un obstacle à l'avancement et à la mobilité professionnelle des résidents du Nord. Dans certains cas, il est moins coûteux d'envoyer et de ramener par avion des employés qualifiés dans le Nord que de former des employés locaux. Cette situation limite l'accès aux emplois locaux et contribue aux fuites économiques, puisque les employés temporaires dépensent leur salaire dans les économies du Sud. Les participants ont également mentionné que certains permis et certaines certifications professionnelles ne peuvent être obtenus que dans les régions du sud du pays. Les habitants du Nord sont donc obligés de quitter leur collectivité pour les obtenir, et certains d'entre eux n'y reviendront pas. À ce sujet, ils ont exprimé le souhait que soient envisagés des systèmes de certification personnalisés et mieux adaptés aux besoins et aux exigences du Nord. Une telle approche pourrait permettre à un plus grand nombre de personnes d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires par l'intermédiaire du mentorat et de l'apprentissage dans leur propre collectivité, ce qui contribuerait du même coup à un meilleur état de préparation communautaire.

Les participants ont proposé plusieurs solutions qui permettraient de mieux adapter les possibilités d'éducation aux réalités du Nord. Ils ont fait valoir qu'il pourrait être bénéfique pour les entreprises d'un même secteur de collaborer et d'élaborer une stratégie de main-d'œuvre durable. Un tel plan pourrait comprendre l'exposition des jeunes aux carrières d'aujourd'hui et de demain, la prestation de cours prospectifs adaptés aux besoins régionaux ainsi que la tenue d'ateliers articulés autour de modules progressifs plutôt qu'axés sur le développement de compétences isolées. Une mise en œuvre de telles solutions exigerait une collaboration étroite de tous les établissements d'enseignement, des gouvernements territoriaux et du secteur privé, ainsi qu'un véritable accès à la bande passante.

Enfin, les participants ont mentionné que les collectivités, les régions et les organisations ont parfois de la difficulté à cibler les besoins actuels et futurs en matière de compétences spécifiques. Les organismes et les collectivités ont par ailleurs indiqué que l'entrepreneuriat et le développement des ressources constituaient des domaines d'intérêt clés. Ils ont fait valoir que des installations de formation polyvalentes et des programmes de mentorat communautaire pourraient permettre de développer les compétences et les connaissances en milieu de travail qu'il faut posséder pour obtenir un emploi durable.

Prochaines étapes

Les commentaires reçus dans le cadre des activités de mobilisation en personne de CanNor et du forum en ligne ont été utiles, et nous remercions sincèrement tous ceux qui ont participé. La stratégie finale sera élaborée et lancée en 2019.

Date de modification :