Our organization

On this page

What we do

The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor), established in 2009, works to help develop diversified, sustainable, and dynamic economies across Canada's territories, while also contributing to Canada's economic prosperity.

Because partnerships are central to CanNor's efforts to harness the full economic potential of the territories, CanNor works with Northerners, Indigenous groups, communities, businesses, organizations, and other federal departments to help foster long-term economic sustainability in Nunavut, Northwest Territories, and Yukon.

CanNor's key interrelated business lines and services help drive territorial economic development:

As the regional development agency for the North, CanNor has a key role in helping unlock business potential and helping develop key economic sectors, such as mining, tourism, fisheries, renewable energy, arts and culture, community and business development, food security and Indigenous economic development.

Visit the Programs and services page for more information.

Our president

Paula Isaak, President - Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor)

Paula Isaak

Paula Isaak became president of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency on 9 October 2018.

Prior to her appointment to CanNor, she was an employee of Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) for over 20 years. She began her career in Ottawa where she determined that she had a strong interest in working with ISC's regional offices. She pursued that interest through postings in a variety of regions from the Atlantic to the Pacific and the North.

Paula has worked in a variety of program areas including land claim and self-government negotiations in the Yukon and NWT, economic development, strategic policy, intergovernmental affairs and natural resource and environmental management. She was the Regional Director General of the Yukon regional office of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs which delivers a wide range of programs and services to Indigenous and northern residents. Prior to being appointed as President, Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency, she was the Assistant Deputy Minister of Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships at Indigenous Services Canada.

Paula has an undergraduate degree in Political Science from the University of Manitoba and a Master's degree in Public Administration from Carleton University.

Date modified:

Notre organisation

Sur cette page

Ce que nous faisons

Établie en 2009, l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) s'efforce de bâtir, dans l'ensemble des territoires du Canada, une économie diversifiée, durable et dynamique qui contribuera à la prospérité économique du pays.

Étant donnée que les partenariats sont au cœur des efforts de CanNor pour metttre en valeur le plein potentiel économique des territoires, CanNor travaille avec les habitants du Nord, les groupes autochtones, les collectivités, les entreprises, les organisations et d'autres ministères fédéraux pour favoriser la durabilité économique à long terme au Nunavut, dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest et au Yukon.

Principaux secteurs d'activité et services interreliés de CanNor aident à stimuler le développement économique territorial :

À titre d'organisme de développement régional pour le Nord, CanNor joue un rôle clé en aidant à libérer le potentiel des entreprises et à développer des secteurs économiques clés, comme les mines, le tourisme, les pêches, l'énergie renouvelable, les arts et la culture, le développement des collectivités et des entreprises, la sécurité alimentaire et le développement économique des Autochtones.

Visitez la page Programmes et services pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Notre présidente

Paula Isaak - Présidente - Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor)

Paula Isaak

Paula Isaak est devenue présidente de l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord le 9 octobre 2018.

Avant sa nomination à CanNor, elle a travaillé à Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) pendant plus de 20 ans. Elle a commencé sa carrière à Ottawa, où elle a décidé que c'était dans les bureaux régionaux de SAC qu'elle voulait vraiment travailler. Elle a donné suite à cet intérêt en occupant divers postes dans diverses régions de l'Atlantique, au Pacifique et au Nord.

Paula a travaillé pour divers secteurs de programme, notamment les négociations sur les revendications territoriales et l'autonomie gouvernementale au Yukon et dans les t.n.-o., le développement économique, la politique stratégique, les affaires intergouvernementales et la gestion des ressources naturelles et de l'environnement. Elle fut directrice générale régionale au Yukon du bureau régional des Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada, qui offre un éventail de programmes et de services aux Autochtones et aux résidents du Nord. Avant d'être nommée au poste de Présidente de l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord, elle fut sous-ministre adjointe au Secteur des programmes et des partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social à Services aux Autochtones Canada.

Paula possède un diplôme de premier cycle en sciences politiques de l'Université du Manitoba, et une maîtrise en administration publique de l'Université Carleton.

Date de modification :