SlideShow

CanNor Highlights for 5th Anniversary

On August 18, 2014, the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) will be celebrating its fifth anniversary.

Read more - CanNor Highlights for 5th Anniversary

 

Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program (NAEOP)

On April 1, 2014, CanNor launched the Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program (NAEOP). This revised program replaces the Aboriginal Economic Development (AED) suite of programs. NAEOP, a results-based and application driven program, will focus on increasing the participation of northern Aboriginal communities and businesses so they can fully participate in territorial economic opportunities.

Read more - Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program

 

Fostering Responsible Resource Development in Canada's North

Canada's North offers tremendous potential for the mining and resource development sector. Rich in natural resources, Nunavut, Yukon and the Northwest Territories are a choice destination for Canadian and global investment. Investment in mineral exploration in the territories was estimated at more than $1 billion in 2012.

CanNor works with industry, northern governments, communities and other partners to promote responsible resource development in Canada's three territories to support economic growth and long-term prosperity for northerners and all Canadians.

Read more - Fostering Responsible Resource Development in Canada's North.

 

Investing in Cultural Industries

The Adäka Cultural Festival, held annually in Whitehorse, Yukon, was launched in July 2011. It is an iconic festival that showcases and celebrates diverse and distinctive First Nations arts and culture. The Adäka festival contributes greatly to cultural tourism and to strengthening and diversifying the local economy, providing new opportunities for emerging artists, vendors and local businesses. CanNor is committed to investing in the North's cultural industries and recognizes their importance to the local economy.

Read more about CanNor's investments into the arts and cultural sector

 

Northern Successes: Nunavut Fisheries

Nunavut's fishing sector is developing into a thriving industry, thanks to a comprehensive, multi-year collaborative effort. Although large expanses of Nunavut's marine waters remained underdeveloped for years, that's changing. Today, a dynamic, diversified and sustainable fishing industry is in the making

Read more about Northern Successes: Nunavut Fisheries

 

Biomass Fuels: Creating sustainable energy solutions for the NWT

A growing market for biomass fuels is helping the Northwest Territories shift from imported fossil fuels to energy from local resources. Biomass fuels are made from sustainable organic matter like plant materials, vegetation or agricultural waste. In the NWT, forest waste, such as sawdust, is the primary biomass materials in use.

Read more about Creating sustainable energy solutions for the NWT

 

Northern Successes: Converting Plastic to Oil

A machine that converts plastic into crude oil is up and running in Whitehorse, Yukon. The first of its kind in North America, the machine at P&M Recycling is already producing enough oil to heat the recycling centre it is housed in.

Read more about Converting Plastic to Oil

 
 

Building a Strong North Together

Highlights

CanNor Business Processes and Tools

The Government of Canada is committed to delivering its programs and services effectively for its clients and Canadians. Since it was created, CanNor has invested $185 million in over 910 projects to create a more dynamic, sustainable and diverse northern economy.

CanNor is taking a systematic approach to strengthen its business processes for contribution programs to continue effectively delivering on its mandate to foster economic development in Canada’s three territories.

CanNor has recently introduced new business processes and service standards as well as a suite of tools so our clients have the information and guidance they need to apply for CanNor funding. For more information please see Programs and Services.

SlideShow

Points saillants de CanNor à l’occasion de son 5e anniversaire

Le 18 août 2014, l’Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) célébrera son cinquième anniversaire.

Continuer la lecture - Points saillants de CanNor à l’occasion de son 5e anniversaire

 

Programme d'opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord (POEAN)

CanNor lancera le Programme d'opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord (POEAN) dès le 1er avril. Ce programme remplace l'ensemble des programmes du Secteur du développement économique des Autochtones. Le POEAN vise à aider les Autochtones du Nord à tirer profit des possibilités économiques. Il mettra l'accent sur ​​l'augmentation de la participation des communautés et entreprises autochtones du Nord afin qu'ils puissent participer pleinement des possibilités économiques territoriaux.

Continuer la lecture - Programme d'opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord

 

Favoriser le développement responsable des ressources dans le Nord canadien

Le Festival culturel Adäka, organisé chaque année à Whitehorse, au Yukon, a été lancé en Juillet 2011. C'est un festival qui met en valeur emblématique et célèbre les arts et la culture des Premières nations différentes et distinctes.

CanNor travaille de concert avec l'industrie, les gouvernements nordiques, les collectivités et d'autres partenaires à la promotion de l'exploitation responsable des ressources dans les trois territoires du Canada afin d'appuyer la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme pour les résidants du Nord et l'ensemble des Canadiens

Continuer la lecture - Favoriser le développement responsable des ressources dans le Nord canadien.

 

Investir dans les industries culturelles

Le Festival culturel Adäka, organisé chaque année à Whitehorse, au Yukon, a été lancé en Juillet 2011. Il est un festival emblématique qui met en valeur la diversité et le caractère unique des arts et de la culture des Premières Nations. Il contribue immensément au tourisme culturel et à la diversification de l'économie locale, en plus d'offrir de nouvelles possibilités aux artistes de la relève, aux commerçants et aux entreprises de la région. CanNor est résolu à investir dans les industries culturelles du Nord et reconnaît leur contribution directe à l'économie locale.

Continuer la lecture - Investir dans les industries culturelles

 

Histoire de réussite dans le Nord : Le secteur des pêches du Nunavut

Grâce à des efforts de collaboration concertés qui se sont étalés sur plusieurs années, le secteur des pêches du Nunavut prend de l'expansion et devient de plus en plus prospère. Même si de grandes étendues d'eau de mer sont demeurées sous-exploitées pendant des années dans le territoire, la situation est tout autre aujourd'hui, et on peut observer l'émergence d'une industrie des pêches dynamique, diversifiée et durable.

Continuer - Le secteur des pêches du Nunavut

 

Les biocombustibles : Adopter des solutions énergétiques durables dans les T.N.-O.

Le marché en pleine croissance des biocombustibles permet aux Territoires du Nord‑Ouest de délaisser l'utilisation de combustibles fossiles importés au profit d'une énergie tirée des ressources locales. Les biocombustibles sont faits de matières organiques renouvelables, comme du matériau végétal, de la végétation ou des résidus agricoles. Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les déchets forestiers, comme la sciure de bois, constituent la principale matière de la biomasse.

Continuer - Adopter des solutions énergétiques durables dans les T.N.-O.

 

Histoire de réussite dans le Nord : Convertir le plastique en pétrole

Une technologie qui permet de convertir le plastique en pétrole brut est utilisée à Whitehorse, au Yukon. Cette technologie de P&M Recycling, la première en son genre en Amérique du Nord, produit déjà suffisamment de pétrole pour chauffer le centre de recyclage dans lequel elle est exploitée.

Continuer - Convertir le plastique en pétrole

 

Ensemble pour un Nord dynamique

Faits saillants

CanNor processus et outils entreprises

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à offrir de manière efficace ses programmes et ses services à ses clients et à l’ensemble des Canadiens. Depuis sa création, l’Agence a investi 185 millions de dollars dans plus de 910 projets afin de créer une économie plus dynamique, durable et diversifiée dans le Nord.

CanNor adopte une approche systématique en vue de renforcer les processus opérationnels entourant les programmes de contributions qui lui permettront de continuer à mener à bien son mandat, lequel consiste à favoriser le développement économique dans les trois territoires du Canada.

CanNor a récemment lancé de nouveaux processus opérationnels et de nouvelles normes de service, en plus d’un éventail d’outils pour informer et orienter les clients qui présentent une demande de financement à l’organisation. Pour plus de détails, visiter programmes et services.