Skills Development

An engaged and skilled northern workforce is key to advancing economic development and building prosperous northern communities. The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that Northerners benefit from and participate in the tremendous opportunities available across the three territories. CanNor plays a lead role, in collaboration with its partners and stakeholders to ensure that Northerners have the skills and training necessary to take part in the new economy.

CanNor invests in capacity and skills development through a variety of programs and services:

The Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining's (CNIM) mobile trades training trailer will provide pre-apprenticeship training to high school students and adult students in communities across Yukon.

The Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development (SINED) contribution program provides support for educational institutions that train individuals and organizations; the development of certification standards, curriculum and materials; industry organizations to strengthen their capacity, small and medium enterprises, communities and organizations/associations to access expert advice/training in economic development.

The Northern Adult Basic Education Program (NABEP), delivered through the northern colleges, assists adults in achieving sufficient levels of literacy, numeracy and other essential skills to obtain a job or benefit from occupational training. This program addresses the unique challenges faced by Northerners to ensure that they have improved access to training and are better positioned to participate in the labour market.

CanNor's Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program (NAEOP) is intended to increase the participation of northern Aboriginal communities and businesses in economic opportunities. In partnership with other federal departments, CanNor collaborates with territorial and Aboriginal governments to support Aboriginal skills development in the North.

CanNor is supporting the Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining (CNIM) at Yukon College.

CNIM will provide a state-of-the-art education, training and research facility for people looking to begin a career in the mining industry as well as for those who want to improve their skills. Through the Centre, thousands of Yukoners and Northerners will have access to accredited career training opportunities. With this training, Northerners will have improved access to high quality skilled trades jobs to meet workforce demand in the growing resource development and exploration sector.

Contact Us to find out more about how CanNor supports skills development in Canada's North.

Date modified:

Acquisition de compétences

Une main-d'œuvre locale engagée et qualifiée est essentielle au développement économique et à l'édification de collectivités prospères dans le Nord. Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à faire en sorte que les résidants du Nord saisissent les occasions exceptionnelles qui s'offrent à eux dans les trois territoires et qu'ils en tirent profit. En collaboration avec ses partenaires et divers intervenants, CanNor veille à ce que les résidants du Nord acquièrent les compétences et la formation nécessaires pour participer à la nouvelle économie.

CanNor investit dans l'acquisition de capacités et de compétences par l'intermédiaire d'un éventail de programmes et services :

Le Centre pour l'innovation dans l'industrie minière du Nord de (CNIM) métiers mobiles formation remorque offrira une formation pré-apprentissage pour les élèves du secondaire et les étudiants adultes dans les collectivités du Yukon.

Le programme de contribution Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord (ISDEN) soutient les établissements d'enseignement qui offrent de la formation aux particuliers et aux organismes, appuie l'élaboration de normes de certification, de matériel et de programmes éducatifs, aident les organismes de l'industrie à renforcer leur capacité et permet aux petites et moyennes entreprises, aux collectivités et aux organismes et associations de bénéficier de formation et d'expertise en matière de développement économique.

Le Programme d'éducation de base des adultes du Nord (PEBAN), offert dans les collèges nordiques, aide les adultes à atteindre un niveau suffisant de littératie et de numératie, ainsi qu'à acquérir d'autres compétences essentielles pour obtenir un emploi ou pour participer à une formation professionnelle. Ce programme s'attaque aux défis uniques que doivent relever les résidants du Nord afin que ces derniers puissent jouir d'un accès amélioré à la formation et être mieux en mesure de participer au marché du travail.

Le Programme d'opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord (POEAN) de CanNor vise à accroître la participation des communautés et entreprises autochtones du Nord aux possibilités économiques. En partenariat avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, CanNor travaille avec les gouvernements territoriaux et autochtones au soutien de l'acquisition de compétences chez les Autochtones du Nord.

CanNor soutient le Centre pour l'innovation dans le secteur minier du Nord au Collège du Yukon. Le CNIM sera un établissement d'enseignement, de formation et de recherche à la fine pointe des connaissances pour les gens qui envisagent une carrière dans l'industrie minière, comme pour les gens qui veulent parfaire leurs compétences. Grâce au Centre, des milliers de Yukonnais et d'habitants du Nord auront accès à une formation professionnelle accréditée. Cette formation permettra aux habitants du Nord d'avoir un meilleur accès à des emplois dans des métiers spécialisés de haute qualité pour satisfaire à la demande en main d'œuvre dans le secteur en pleine expansion de la mise en valeur des ressources et de l'exploration.

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont CanNor soutient le développement des compétences dans le Nord du Canada.

Date de modification :