Engagement Process: Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy

Working together for a better future

Connect with us

For questions about the Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy, please contact:
cannor.cannorengage-mobilisationcannor.cannor@canada.ca.

Also, visit our PlaceSpeak platform to read our online discussion forum.

The world is changing. In an era of intense global competition, Canadians must build on past achievements, address challenges head on, and work to seize new economic opportunities that position us for the future.

To help the territories compete in this new reality, the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) is working with territorial and Indigenous governments, industry, Indigenous communities and organizations, and academia to develop a Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy. The purpose of this strategy is to help stimulate economic growth, which reflects the unique advantages of each territory.

To inform the development of this strategy, CanNor will be holding in-person roundtables and teleconferences in the three territories with a broad range of partners and stakeholders in early 2019.

Learn more about the Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy.

What have we heard so far?

In summer 2017, CanNor held a series of roundtables in the territories to inform renewal of its economic development programming. Our territorial and Indigenous partners, as well as other Northern stakeholders, highlighted a number of challenges in the territories that hamper the pace of development, including a significant infrastructure deficit and a higher cost of doing business related to remote locations, harsh environment, and sparse population distribution.

Based on collected feedback, CanNor is proposing the following action areas to focus the Agency's activities, in collaboration with its partners and stakeholders, over the next five years. Actions will integrate the existing work of territorial governments (e.g. Northwest Territories' Economic Opportunities Strategy). Initiatives to promote innovation will be included in all areas of action.

Proposed Action Areas

Resource extraction sectors

Support the sustainable development of the resource extraction sectors in a manner which increases community capacity and maximizes jobs and wealth within the territories.

Economic diversification and innovation

Foster the sustainable growth of other economic sectors, such as tourism, with an initial focus on strengthened entrepreneurship and Northern innovation.

Infrastructure investments and development

Leverage upcoming investments and the ongoing operation of major infrastructure projects to maximize local and regional economic opportunities.

Skilled workforce

Help build a Northern workforce and equip Northerners with the tools, skills, and experience they need to succeed in the workforce, now and into the future.

Who is being engaged?

It is essential that the views of those most directly involved and affected help shape the foundation of the Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy. Because there is strength in diversity, this engagement paper invites input from:

  • territorial and municipal governments
  • industry
  • businesses
  • women, youth, and recent immigrants
  • economic development organizations
  • colleges and research institutes
  • individual Canadians

Given the critical role played by Indigenous people and governments in the Northern economy, CanNor will also have focused engagement with Inuit, First Nations, and Métis governments and organizations.

At its core, the strategy is about growing the economy, attracting investment, and creating middle class jobs for Northerners and all Canadians. To do this, we need to think boldly and work together to focus our efforts on advancing territorial strengths.

What do we plan to ask?

Beginning in January 2019 and ending in March 2019, we plan to ask the following four questions:

1.

Are the four proposed action areas the right ones? If not, what would be your top four?

2.

For the economic diversification action area, what three sectors should be prioritized? How should Tourism be supported?

3.

For each action area, what specific activities should CanNor advance in collaboration with its partners?

4.

How can Indigenous economic development corporations and the private sector be engaged to increase the effectiveness of the four proposed action areas?

What we heard

In the coming months, we will publish a "What we heard" report that highlights what we heard from individuals, communities, and organizations that shared values, diverse ideas and recommendations. From that, the Pan-Territorial Growth Strategy will be developed and launched in 2019.

RSS Feeds

Subscribe to the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) RSS feed to receive updates from our News Releases, Media Advisories and Speeches pages. Subscribers will receive the content title, a brief summary, the date published and a link to the full content on the CanNor website.

Date modified:

Processus de mobilisation : Stratégie de croissance pan territoriale

Travailler ensemble pour bâtir un meilleur avenir

Communiquez avec nous

Pour toute question à propos de la Stratégie de croissance panterritoriale, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l'adresse : 
cannor.cannorengage-mobilisationcannor.cannor@canada.ca.

De plus, visitez la plateforme en ligne PlaceSpeak afin de lire notre forum de discussion en ligne.

Le monde change. À notre époque d'intense compétition à l'échelle mondiale, les Canadiens doivent s'appuyer sur des réalisations précédentes, faire face aux défis et s'efforcer de saisir de nouvelles occasions sur le plan économique qui façonneront notre avenir.

Pour aider les territoires à être concurrentiels dans cette nouvelle réalité, l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) collabore avec les gouvernements territoriaux et autochtones, l'industrie, les collectivités et organisations autochtones et le milieu universitaire pour élaborer une stratégie de croissance panterritoriale. L'objectif de cette stratégie est de contribuer à stimuler la croissance économique, qui reflète les avantages uniques de chaque territoire.

Pour orienter l'élaboration de cette stratégie, CanNor tiendra des tables rondes et des téléconférences en personne dans les trois territoires avec un large éventail de partenaires et d'intervenants au début de 2019.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la Stratégie de croissance panterritoriale.

Qu'est ce que nous avons appris jusqu'à présent?

À l'été 2017, CanNor a tenu une série de tables rondes dans les territoires pour éclairer le renouvellement de ses programmes de développement économique. Nos partenaires territoriaux et autochtones, ainsi que d'autres intervenants du Nord, ont souligné un certain nombre de défis dans les territoires qui entravent le rythme du développement, y compris un important déficit d'infrastructure et un coût plus élevé pour faire des affaires liées aux régions éloignées, un environnement difficile et une distribution éparse de la population.

À la lumière des commentaires recueillis, CanNor propose les domaines d'action suivants pour orienter les activités de l'Agence, en collaboration avec ses partenaires et intervenants, au cours des cinq prochaines années. Les mesures intégreront les travaux existants des gouvernements territoriaux (p. ex. la Stratégie d'opportunités économiques des Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Des initiatives visant à promouvoir l'innovation seront incluses dans tous les domaines d'action.

Domaines d'action proposés pour le Plan d'action panterritorial

Secteurs d'extraction des ressources

Appuyer le développement durable des secteurs de l'extraction des ressources de manière à accroître la capacité communautaire et à maximiser les emplois et la richesse dans les territoires.

Diversification économique et innovation

Favoriser la croissance durable d'autres secteurs économiques, dont le tourisme, en mettant d'abord l'accent sur le renforcement de l'entrepreneuriat et l'innovation dans le Nord.

Investissements et développement de l'infrastructure

Tirer parti des investissements à venir et de l'exploitation continue des grands projets d'infrastructure pour maximiser les possibilités économiques locales et régionales.

Main-d'œuvre qualifiée

Aider à bâtir une main-d'œuvre nordique et fournir aux résidents du Nord les outils, les compétences et l'expérience dont ils ont besoin pour réussir sur le marché du travail, maintenant et à l'avenir.

Qui peut s'engager?

Il est essentiel que les points de vue des personnes les plus directement concernées et touchées contribuent à façonner le fondement de la Stratégie de croissance panterritoriale. Parce que la diversité fait la force, le présent document d'engagement sollicite les commentaires des parties suivantes :

  • gouvernements territoriaux et administrations municipales
  • industrie
  • entreprises
  • femmes, jeunes et immigrants récents
  • organismes de développement économique
  • collèges et instituts de recherche
  • citoyens canadiens

Étant donné le rôle crucial joué par les peuples et les gouvernements autochtones dans l'économie du Nord, CanNor fera également preuve d'un engagement ciblé avec les gouvernements et les organisations des Inuits, des Premières nations et des Métis.

Essentiellement, la stratégie vise à faire croître l'économie, à attirer les investissements et à créer des emplois de la classe moyenne pour les résidents du Nord et tous les Canadiens. Pour ce faire, nous devons penser avec audace et travailler ensemble pour concentrer nos efforts sur l'avancement des forces territoriales.

Qu'est-ce que nous allons demander?

De janvier 2019 à mars 2019, nous allons poser les quatre questions suivantes :

1.

Les quatre domaines d'action proposés sont-ils les bons? Sinon, quels seraient vos quatre principaux domaines d'action?

2.

Dans le domaine d'action de la diversification économique, quels sont les trois secteurs à privilégier? Comment devrait-on appuyer le secteur touristique?

3.

Pour chaque domaine d'action, quelles activités spécifiques CanNor devrait-elle faire progresser en collaboration avec ses partenaires?

4.

Comment les sociétés de développement économique autochtones et le secteur privé peuvent-ils être mobilisés pour accroître l'efficacité des quatre domaines d'action proposés?

Ce que nous avons entendu

Au cours des prochains mois, nous publierons un rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu des individus, collectivités et organisations qui nous ont fait part de leurs idées et recommandations. Par la suite, nous élaborerons la Stratégie de croissance panterritoriale que nous planifions de mettre en œuvre 2019.

Fils RSS

Abonnez-vous aux fils RSS de l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord pour recevoir des mises à jour de nos communiqués de presse, avis aux média et discours pages. Les utilisateurs recevront un titre, un bref résumé, la date de publication et un lien vers le contenu complet sur le site Web de CanNor.

Date de modification :