Community Development

Community collaboration in action: The Children's First Centre in Inuvik is a state-of-the-art facility that was developed and built through partnership between various levels of government and community participation. The centre will provide space and care for up to 100 children in the community as well as creating local jobs and economic opportunities for caregivers and support staff. Read the news release. (PDF)

CanNor is committed to working with its partners and stakeholders to build strong and economically sustainable northern communities with a high quality of life for residents across Canada's three territories. Through its programs and services, CanNor supports community-based efforts to plan for and take advantage of opportunities for development and diversification in key economic sectors such as mining, tourism, fisheries, renewable energy and in cultural and traditional sectors.

Recognizing the unique challenges facing northern communities, many of which are small and remote, CanNor works with its community partners to identify the most optimal areas for investment. This includes helping communities to participate in and benefit from major projects occurring in their region; fostering capacity and skills development at both the organizational and individual levels, and making investments to improve local infrastructure. CanNor delivers several programs that help communities create the conditions necessary for economic growth and development.

The Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program (NAEOP) is intended to increase the participation of northern Aboriginal communities and businesses in economic opportunities.

Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development (SINED) supports skills and capacity development and enhancing local infrastructure in northern communities.

The Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program is a part of Canada 150 Celebrates, the Government of Canada’s approach to celebrating Canada’s 150th anniversary. CanNor will deliver $6.4 million of the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program in the territories by investing in projects that rehabilitate, renovate, or enhance cultural and community infrastructure for public use or benefit and which will help define a community’s sense of place, pride and purpose.

The Economic Development Initiative provides $400,000 (2013-2018) for Canada's North over five years to support business and economic development that encourages sustainable growth in northern Canada's Francophone communities.

Recognizing the key role that resource development plays in economic development and prosperity in the North, CanNor is leveraging the role of its Northern Projects Management Office to work with industry and communities to ensure that Northerners benefit from economic opportunities unfolding in the North. The Community Readiness Initiative fosters planning and capacity building so that northern communities are better positioned to participate in and benefit from major resource development projects.

Contact Us to find out more about how CanNor support Community Development in Canada's North.

Date modified:

Développement des communautés

La collaboration communautaire en action : le Children's First Centre à Inuvik est un établissement à la fine pointe de la technologie qui a été conçu et bâti dans le cadre d'un partenariat entre les divers ordres de gouvernement et avec la participation de la communauté. Le centre accueillera et soignera jusqu'à 100 enfants de la communauté, tout en créant des emplois et des occasions économiques pour le personnel soignant et le personnel de soutien. Lire le communiqué. (PDF)

L'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) s'engage à travailler avec ses partenaires et divers intervenants en vue de bâtir dans le Nord des communautés fortes et économiquement viables offrant une belle qualité de vie aux habitants des trois territoires du Canada. Dans le cadre de ses programmes et services, CanNor appuie les efforts faits par les communautés pour planifier leur développement et leur diversification et saisir les occasions qui se présentent dans des secteurs économiques clés, comme l'exploitation minière, le tourisme, les pêches, l'énergie renouvelable, de même que dans les secteurs culturels et traditionnels.

Reconnaissant les défis uniques que doivent relever les communautés nordiques, dont bon nombre sont de petite taille et situées en région éloignée, CanNor travaille avec ses partenaires communautaires dans le but de déterminer les domaines d'investissement les plus prometteurs. Ainsi, il aide les communautés à prendre part aux grands projets qui sont menés dans leur région et à en tirer profit, à favoriser chez les personnes et les organisations le renforcement des capacités et l'acquisition des compétences, de même qu'à faire des investissements visant à améliorer l'infrastructure locale. CanNor offre plusieurs programmes qui permettent aux communautés de créer les conditions nécessaires à leur développement et à leur croissance économique.

Le Programme d'opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord (POEAN) vise à accroître la participation des communautés et entreprises autochtones du Nord aux possibilités économiques.

L'ensemble de programmes Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord (ISDEN) soutient l'acquisition de compétences et le renforcement des capacités, ainsi que l'amélioration de l'infrastructure locale des communautés nordiques.

Le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 s’inscrit dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada. CanNor s’engage à verser 6,4 millions de dollars tirés du Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150, aux territoires, aux projets qui réhabilitent, rénovent et élargissent l’infrastructure publique en place, en vue d’une utilisation par le public ou d’offrir un avantage à celui-ci, et qui aideront à définir un sentiment communautaire envers le lieu, la fierté et le but.

L'Initiative de développement économique investit 400 000 $ (2013-2018) dans le Nord canadien pendant cinq ans afin de soutenir le développement des affaires et de l'économie et ainsi favoriser la croissance durable des communautés nordiques francophones du Canada.

Consciente du rôle essentiel que joue l'exploitation des ressources dans le développement économique et la prospérité du Nord, CanNor mise sur son Bureau de gestion des projets nordiques pour travailler avec l'industrie et les communautés à veiller à ce que les habitants du Nord tirent profit des possibilités économiques qui s'y déploient. L'initiative visant à assurer l'état de préparation des communautés favorise la planification et le renforcement des capacités pour que les communautés nordiques soient mieux en mesure de prendre part aux grands projets d'exploitation des ressources et d'en tirer profit.

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont CanNor soutient le développement communautaire dans le Nord du Canada.

Date de modification :