Business Development

Yukon Business Icefield Tools Corporation has garnered international attention with its precision borehole surveying tools for the mining, oil & gas and geotechnical sectors. Icefield tools utilized the services of the Yukon Business Development Program, funded in part by CanNor that provides personalized business development assistance to Yukon companies.

The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor) supports the growth and expansion of northern businesses, including small and medium-sized enterprises, through training, advisory services, and through dynamic and flexible contribution programs for businesses and communities that build capacity. The objective is to encourage a competitive, diverse northern business sector with a strengthened capacity for innovation.

CanNor works with businesses, industry, communities, Aboriginal organizations and territorial governments through its programs and services to help encourage innovation, stimulate entrepreneurship and create sustainable economic development in sectors such as tourism, geosciences, renewable energy, fisheries, small and medium enterprises, and cultural and traditional sectors.

CanNor brings knowledge and expertise of local and regional economies to help build the capacity of individuals, organizations and northern businesses and seeks to leverage the activities flowing from major resource projects to diversify and strengthen other sectors of local economies.

CanNor's contribution programs that support business development and capacity include:

CanNor also supports third party delivery arrangements that provide business advisory services to assist Aboriginal small business owners in accessing financing for planning, start-up, expansion and marketing. In Nunavut, the Nunavut Community Economic Development Organization (NCEDO) supports the delivery of CanNor's Aboriginal Economic Development programming and in Yukon, däna Näye Ventures provides these services. In the Northwest Territories, CanNor delivers Aboriginal Economic Development programs for aboriginal entrepreneurs and community owned and controlled corporations.

The Agency also serves as the federal managing partner for the Canada Business Service Centres providing local access to information and resources related to business development.

Contact Us to find out more about how CanNor supports Business Development in Canada's North.

Date modified:

Développement des entreprises

Une entreprise au Yukon Icefield Tools Corporation a attiré une attention internationale grâce à ses outils de forage de haute précision utilisés dans les secteurs minier, pétrolier, gazier et géotechnique. L'entreprise a recouru aux services de Programme de développement des entreprises du Yukon, financé en partie par l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) et qui fournit aux sociétés du Yukon une assistance personnalisée en matière de développement des affaires.

L'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (CanNor) appuie la croissance et l'expansion des entreprises du Nord, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), en leur offrant, de même qu'aux collectivités, des cours de formation, des services consultatifs et des programmes de contribution dynamiques et souples qui les aident à renforcer leurs capacités. L'objectif consiste à favoriser dans le Nord un secteur commercial diversifié et concurrentiel ayant une capacité d'innovation accrue.

Grâce à ses programmes et à ses services, CanNor travaille, de concert avec les entreprises, les industries, les collectivités, les organisations autochtones et les gouvernements territoriaux, à favoriser l'innovation, stimuler l'esprit d'entreprise et susciter un développement économique durable dans des secteurs tels que le tourisme, les géosciences, les énergies renouvelables, les pêcheries, les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) ainsi que les secteurs liés à la culture et au patrimoine.

CanNor apporte des connaissances et une expertise se rapportant aux économies locales et régionales afin d'appuyer le développement de la capacité des individus, des organisations et des entreprises du Nord, et s'efforce de tirer le meilleur parti possible des retombées des projets d'envergure liés aux ressources pour diversifier et renforcer les autres secteurs des économies locales.

Les programmes de contribution de CanNor qui appuient le développement et la capacité des entreprises comprennent :

CanNor appuie également la conclusion d'accords avec des tiers qui fournissent des services consultatifs aux entreprises afin d'aider les propriétaires autochtones de petites entreprises à accéder au financement destiné à la planification, au démarrage, à l'expansion et à la mise en marché. Au Nunavut, l'association Kakivak, Kivalliq Partners in Development et l'Association Inuit Kitikmeot s'occupent de l'exécution de ses programmes de développement économique des Autochtones. Au Yukon et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ces services sont assurés par däna Näye Ventures et Metis-Dene Development Fund.

L'Agence s'acquitte également de la gestion, pour le compte du gouvernement fédéral, des Centres de services aux entreprises du Canada en assurant l'accès local à l'information et aux ressources nécessaires pour l'expansion des entreprises.

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont CanNor soutient le développement des affaires dans le Nord du Canada.

Date de modification :